Back to Home
Who We Are
Visit Us
Explore Our Collections
Do History
For Teachers
Get Involved

Thank You for Supporting NJ History and the Arts!


Dear Friend:

The Board of Trustees and staff of The New Jersey Historical Society would like to express our deepest thanks to everyone who participated in the unified and unprecedented grassroots campaign to save state funding for arts and history.

For five grueling months, thousands of people acted vigorously on behalf of the New Jersey cultural community, and in the wee hours on the morning of July 1, 2003, our voices were heard.

In the budget that was just passed, history and arts institutions were appropriated $23 million of the 2004 state budget to be distributed to large and small cultural organizations through the stateís three major cultural agencies, the New Jersey Historical Commission, the New Jersey Cultural Trust, and the New Jersey State Council on the Arts. Of the $23 million, the New Jersey Historical Commission will receive $2.7 million, approximately $1 million less than the amount granted last year.

It is gratifying to know how much New Jerseyans care deeply about our history and the arts and believe that they are essential elements of the quality of life in our state. Now that funding has been restored, we at The New Jersey Historical Society now urge you, our supporters and friends, to extend a personal and heartfelt thank you to the legislators who listened to the publicís outcry and answered with a resounding yes!

This sample letter can be used as is or be modified to fit what you specifically would like to say.

Just make sure to fill in the bolded sections of the letter: the date, legislatorís name and address, and your phone number.


Governor James McGreevey
The State House
P. O. Box 001
Trenton, NJ 08625

Secretary of State
Regena Thomas
P.O. Box 300
Trenton, NJ 08625
Fax: 609-292-7665


Senator Richard Codey
449 Mount Pleasant Avenue
West Orange, NJ 07052
Fax: 973-731-0647
Email address: Senator Richard Codey

Senator John Bennett
41 Center Street
Freehold, NJ 07728
Fax: 732-863-1016
Email address: Senator John Bennett

Senator Leonard Lance
119 Main Street
Flemington, NJ 08822
Fax: 908-788-0416
Email address: Senator Leonard Lance

Senator Tom Kean, Jr.
203 Elm Street, 1st Floor
Westfield, NJ 07090
Fax: 908-232-3345
Email address: Senator Tom Kean, Jr.

Senator Wayne Bryant
Co-Chair, Senate Budget & Appropriations Committee,
501 Cooper Street
Camden, NJ 08102
Fax: 856-541-0426
Email address: Senator Wayne Bryant

Senator Robert Littell
Co-Chair, Senate Budget & Appropriations Committee,
P.O. Box 328
Franklin, NJ 07416
Fax: 973-827-0348
Email address: Senator Robert Littell

Assemblyman Louis Greenwald
Chair, Assembly Budget Committee,
231 Route 70 East
Cherry Hill, NJ 08034-2421
Fax: 856-428-1358
Email address: Assemblyman Louis Greenwald

Assemblywoman Bonnie Watson-Coleman
Chair, Assembly Appropriations Committee,
226 West State Street
Trenton, NJ 08608
Fax: 609-633-2179
Email address: Assemblywoman Bonnie Watson-Coleman

Senate Democratic Majority Leader Bernard F. Kenny, Jr.,
235 Hudson Street, Suite 1
Hoboken, NJ 07030
Fax: 201-714-9825
Email address: Senate Democratic Majority Leader Bernard F. Kenny, Jr.

Assembly Majority Leader Joseph J. Roberts,
Brooklawn Shopping Plaza
Route 130 South and Browning Road
Brooklawn, NJ 08030
Fax: 856-742-1831
Email address: Assembly Majority Leader Joseph J. Roberts

Assembly Speaker Albio Sires,
303 58th Street
West New York, NJ 07093
Fax: 201-854-4818
Email address: Assembly Speaker Albio Sires

Thank you again for your support,

Sally Yerkovich
President & CEO of The New Jersey Historical Society

See all news stories


The New Jersey Historical Society
52 Park Place - Newark, NJ 07102
(973) 596-8500 - Fax: (973) 596-6957
Contact NJHS
Copyright © 2001, The New Jersey Historical Society
Our Privacy Policy - Site Map


-- --


Search JerseyHistory.org: